Everything You Should Know About Texas’s Licensed vs. Certified Lash Technicians 2023-2024 | Application & Requirements
We are pleased to inform you about All You Need to Know About Licensed vs. Certified Lash Technicians in Texas 2023-2024 | Application & Requirements
Have you ever compared Texas lash technicians who are certified and those who are licensed? Even though the idea of beauty will always be arbitrary, the eye and, consequently, the eyelash, are among the aspects that the majority of people pay attention to when making such a judgment. A stunning eyelash can instantly transform a candidate’s ranking from 0 to 10.
The eyelash shields the eye from debris and other harmful substances. In comparison to the lower lid’s 75–80 lashes, the upper lid has between 90 and 160. It has a maximum dimension of 12 millimeters and is moderately curved.
For many people, especially ladies, having a full lash gives a certain kind of confidence in your beauty. Sadly, for certain reasons, some people cannot achieve their dream lashes naturally, and this is where the help of lash extensions and beauty technicians comes into bear.
The eye is an essential organ in the body and should be protected by all means necessary; this is why the state of Texas has mandated and provided an avenue for licensing before one can become a certified lash technician in Texas.
Therefore, this article will discuss licensed vs. certified lash tech in Texas: all you need to know before getting your beautiful eyelash extensions.
First, we will address the differences between eyelash licensing and certifications in Texas.
In Texas, before becoming certified by any institution as a lash tech, the law mandates you to first train for about 320 hours and obtain a license from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.
To be a Licensed lash tech in Texas, the state Board of Cosmetology has defined certain educational requirements that you must comply with to become a licensed technician. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation issues this license. At the end of your training, the TDLR, through its third-party vendor, PSI, grants you access to the exam information you need to schedule and take your exams.
How To Become A Licensed Last Tech
To become a licensed lash tech, you are mandated to;
• Be at least 17 years to apply;
• Have a High School diploma or its equivalency;
• must be enrolled in a beauty school licensed in Texas or;
• have completed 320 hours of instruction in an approved eyelash extension training program;
• pass the written and practical licensing exams;
• apply online or by mail for your license to be issued;
• include a non-refundable fee of $50.
Standard topics to be taught include some of the following:
- Infectious and contagious diseases of the eye
- Allergic reactions
- Proper sanitation practices
- Client preparation
- Lash bonding and practical bonding tips
- Occupational health and safety practices
- Eyelash extension application procedures
Eyelash extension isolation and separation procedures
This process ensures that you have the appropriate knowledge to perform different procedures like eyelash extension application safely.
To become licensed, all you need is to comply with the requirements aforementioned by visiting the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) website online and follow the prompts.
In the second part of this article, we will discuss lash tech certifications.
How To Become A Certified Lash Tech
To become a certified eyelash technician in Texas, you need to have obtained your cosmetology and esthetician license.
The next step would be to enroll in a beauty school where you will get the best training possible to become even better in your craft as a lash tech. Before you enroll in any institution or training school, be sure to take out time to take a look at their course schedule and be sure to check if they issue certifications at the end of their programs or not.
You will receive training in even more sophisticated techniques that will enable you to master the art of lashing. Don’t forget to participate in advanced lash extension education both on-site and online to keep current with the newest methods.
In conclusion, in order to become certified as a lash technician in Texas, you must first have gotten a license. Remember that different certification requirements for eyelash extensions exist in other states as well. Keep in mind that you must renew your specialist license for eyelash extensions every two years.
Note: If you have questions or corrections regarding this post, kindly use the comment box below.